Firearm Sales and Transfers-All firearms sold or transferred through an FFL in the State of Florida require without exception, completion of an ATF form 4473 as well as a background check.
*We are happy to help you facilitate a transfer, however, we require the seller to contact us by email to request a copy of our FFL. This will expedite your transfer and save us from sending numerous copies due to spam capture. Transfer may be requested to: firstname.lastname@example.org
Transfers $30 (Includes the State of Florida $5 Background Check Tax)
Multi Gun Transfers $25/each
Class III Transfers $125
Law Enforcement and Active Military Discount $25
Firearm Shipping through USPS on Wednesdays-We ship through USPS and ONLY to FFL's. We will accept firearm shipments from private individuals as long as a legible copy of the driver's license is enclosed for our record keeping. We will not release a firearm under any circumstances without this copy.
For questions regarding the transfer and purchase of firearms in the State of Florida, please visit these websites or contact us, we are always happy to answer any questions:
Is there a waiting period to purchase a handgun in Florida? Yes, there is a mandatory three “working day” wait unless you possess a valid Concealed Weapon Permit or you are trading one firearm for another. The three day wait excludes weekends. For example: if you purchase a handgun on Friday, you may legally pick it up on the next Thursday.
Is there a waiting period to purchase a shotgun or rifle? No, there is no wait to purchase a long gun.
Do Law Enforcement Officers have 3 day waits when purchasing non-duty firearms? Yes unless they possess a Florida CWP.
Are background checks required to purchase handguns or long guns? Yes, background checks are required by all purchasers (including law enforcement officers) unless the purchase is made by a law enforcement agency. Yes, this does include transfers of firearms as well.
For questions regarding the transfer and purchase of Class III or AOW (Any Other Weapon) firearms please visit this website or contact us:
May machine guns be transferred from one registered owner to another?
Yes. If the machine gun was lawfully registered and possessed before May 19, 1986, it may be transferred pursuant to an approved ATF Form 4.
How can an individual legally own a full auto firearm?
1. By transfer after approval by ATF of a registered weapon from its lawful owner.
2. By obtaining prior approval from ATF to make NFA firearms.
What is the tax on making or transferring an NFA firearm? The tax is $200 for making any NFA firearm, including "any other weapon." The tax on transferring NFA firearms is $200 and $5 for AOW's. This tax is paid to ATF.
How is this tax paid?
A money order or check made payable to the Bureau of ATF together with the application forms are to be mailed to the Bureau of ATF, NFA Branch.
How long does a Class III transfer take?
Approximately 6-12 months.
What is an AOW?
An AOW means any other weapon. There is a tax of $5 and additional paperwork. An example of an "AOW" is a pen gun or Serbu Super Shorty shotgun.